Nominate an Outstanding Greater Regional Nurse for the DAISY Award

Daisy Award for Extraordinary Nurses

About the DAISY Foundation 

The DAISY Foundation was established in 2000 by the Barnes family in memory of J. Patrick Barnes who died from complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP) at the age of 33. Having been touched by the remarkable care clinical skills and compassion demonstrated by nurses during Patrick's illness, the Barnes family made it their mission to recognize exceptional nurses around the country. 

What is the DAISY Award?

The DAISY Award is a program that rewards excellence in nursing. It was created by the DAISY Foundation to recognize the clinical skills, extraordinary compassion and care exhibited by nurses everyday. The award is given out three times a year at our facility , but more than  2,300 health care facilities, in all 50 states and 15 countries participate.

The DAISY Award recipients are recognized at a public ceremony and receive a :

  • Certificate
  • DAISY Award signature lapel pin
  • Hand-carved stone sculpture entitled A Healer's Touch
Also, the unit or department of the recipient will receive cinnamon rolls-a favorite of Patrick's during his illness-with the sentiment that the heavenly aroma will remind them how special they are and how important their work is. 

Who is eligible for the DAISY Award?

The nurses who are eligible for the DAISY Award need to showcase the PETALS of the DAISY Award.

P- passion

E- empathy

T- trust

A- admirable

L- loving

S- selfless

DAISY Award recipients humanize the mission, vision, and values of Greater Regional Health.  These individuals selected consistently demonstrate not only the PETALS of the DAISY Award but the core values of Greater Regional, Compassion, Ownership, Respect and Integrity. The skills and patient care demonstrated by these individuals are recognized as outstanding role models in the nursing community. 

How to nominate an extraordinary nurse?

Patients, family members, visitors, employees, volunteers and physicians can nominate a deserving nurse by filling out an online nomination form or by submitting a paper nomination. Forms are located around Greater Regional Health, around the hospital, in exam rooms and waiting rooms.